top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Adjusting during COVID

It has been 9 months since I last stepped in my own office for a full work day. I’m sure many of you have been feeling the effects of social isolation. Although I’ve been working from home, I’m still responsible for seeing patients. One of the common things that has come up is the lack of contact with important people in their lives. This recurring theme has led me to want to speak a bit about ways to remain connected and what it means to be “intimate.” In a time where we can’t sit face to face to catch up, it’s easy to feel like “what’s the point” or, even worse, “I don’t have anyone.” However, a reframe could be, “things aren’t how they’ve been, but I can still maintain my relationship, it just looks different.” Having the technology to see those we care about whenever we want is a blessing in these times. When we feel the need to be close to others, we can do that by being emotionally close without being physically close. Sharing with your tribe how you miss them, the struggles you’ve felt, and the desire you have to strengthen your bond is a healthy start to this proces. It allows you to be vulnerable and show a side of you they might otherwise never have seen. We too often have superficial conversations when we see our friends, so I challenge you to share what’s really happening. When you experience the support from your tribe that they understand and feel the same way, it will ultimately bring you closer, which is the goal.

bottom of page